His entire life long, he was plagued by poverty, strokes of fate, drug excesses, and severe illness, with his earnings as an artist sufficing only to cover his rent and the barest necessities. But today, works by Amedeo Modigliani—a native of Livorno, Italy who died in his studio in 1920 at just 35 years of age—number among the most expensive, with individual paintings fetching nine-figure sums.

In view of his death’s 100th anniversary, Vienna’s ALBERTINA Museum is honoring Amedeo Modigliani (1884–1920) with a spectacular exhibition encompassing ca. 130 works from three continents. This showing, originally planned for the jubilee year of 2020, was postponed due to its importance and the pandemic: So it is only now that this fascinating, powerful artist will be featured for the first time in Austria. The present exhibition brings together major works from the most renowned museums and private collections all the way from the USA to Singapore and from Great Britain to Russia, with large numbers of works coming from the Musée Picasso in Paris and the collection of Jonas Netter, one of Modigliani‘s major patrons during his lifetime. The selection of works on exhibit serves to situate Modigliani within the context of a unique circle of avant-garde painters.

The story of Amadeo Modigliani, a painter and sculptor whose career and life met an early demise, could hardly be more dramatic: at the young age of 11, Modigliani suffered from a serious case of pleurisy. In 1898, at age 14, he contract typhus—an illness that was considered deadly at the time. Later on, he suffered from chronic tuberculosis—which ultimately cost him his life at the young age of 35. Two days following his death, his fiancée Jeanne Hébuterne (who was eight months pregnant) took her own life.

On view from 17 September 2021 until 9 January 2022.

 © Foto: Albertina

Er war zeitlebens von Armut, Schicksalsschlägen, Drogenexzessen und schwerer Krankheit gezeichnet, konnte nur mit seiner Kunst für Miete und das Nötigste zum Überleben aufkommen. Heute zählt der 1920 im Alter von nur 35 Jahren verstorbene Künstler aus Livorno, Amedeo Modigliani, zu den teuersten Künstlern der Geschichte, dessen Bilder dreistellige Millionenbeträge erzielen.

Die Wiener ALBERTINA würdigt Amedeo Modigliani (1884-1920) anlässlich seines 100. Todestages mit einer spektakulären, ca. 130 Objekte aus drei Kontinenten umfassenden Retrospektive. Die ursprünglich für das Jubiläumsjahr 2020 geplante Schau wurde aufgrund der Pandemie verschoben: Nun wird dieser faszinierende, unverkennbare Künstler erstmals auch in Österreich gezeigt. Die Ausstellung vereint Hauptwerke aus den renommiertesten Museen und Privatsammlungen von den USA bis Singapur, von Großbritannien bis Russland mit größeren Leihgaben aus dem Musée Picasso-Paris und der Sammlung Jonas Netter, der ein großer Förderer Modiglianis zu seinen Lebzeiten war. Sie wird den Künstler innerhalb eines einzigartigen Kreises von Avantgardemalern verorten.

Das Leben Modiglianis, des früh gescheiterten Bildhauers, lässt sich an Dramatik kaum überbieten: Bereits im Alter von von elf Jahren litt Modigliani an einer schweren Rippenfellentzündung. Mit 14 Jahren erkrankte er an Typhus, einer seinerzeit als tödlich geltenden Krankheit. Später litt er an chronischer Tuberkulose, die den nur 35-Jährigen im Januar 1920 letztlich das Leben kostete. Zwei Tage später nahm sich seine im achten Monat schwangere Verlobte, Jeanne Hébuterne, das Leben.

Modigliani. Revolution des Primitivismus ist von 17. September 2021 bis 9. Januar 2022 zu sehen.

 © Foto: Albertina