Biedermeier – the much quoted and oft discussed word of our age: have idyllic, middle-class mores taken hold within our society? What, in fact, is Biedermeier? Does the contemplation of this era mean looking back on Better Times? This special exhibition in the Upper Belvedere tells of the period of the Metternich restoration, the empowerment of the middle class and its simultaneous retreat from the sphere of political responsibility into the private sphere.

The Habsburg Monarchy in the first half of the nineteenth century: the French Revolution and Napoleon have shaken it to its foundations – it endeavors to regain its old strength by means of repression. Meanwhile, the middle class is attaining a new, hitherto unknown self-awareness. The focus is on the family, the proverbial sort of domestic happiness. At the same time, its protagonists withdraw from political life.

This was the starting point for a new style: the Viennese Biedermeier. The ostensible idyll of the private was turned into the prevailing ideal. Depictions of domestic life increasingly found their way into art. Salon culture was booming. Family portraits, glimpses into tranquil domesticity, and floral pictures became popular in the visual arts during this time. The local landscape as a point of identification also became a fashionable motif.

Nevertheless, art was not entirely uncritical during this period: representations of supposedly contemplative or touching scenes reveal the complete opposite upon closer inspection. Poverty and social exclusion are the “hidden” themes in Biedermeier painting.

With this exhibition, curator Rolf H. Johannsen addresses the fact and fiction behind an influential epoch for Vienna and the history of its art.

With works by Ferdinand Georg Waldmüller, Friedrich von Amerling, Rosalia Amon, Josef Danhauser, Thomas Ender, Peter Fendi, Pauline Koudelka-Schmerling, Carl Schindler, Franz Steinfeld, Adalbert Stifter, and others.

Curated by Rolf H. Johannsen.

 © Foto: Belvedere Museum

Biedermeier – viel zitiertes und oft diskutiertes Wort unserer Tage: Macht sich ein bürgerlich-idyllischer Lebensstil in unserer Gesellschaft breit? Was ist Biedermeier eigentlich? Ist ein Blick auf diese Epoche ein Blick auf bessere Zeiten? Die neue Sonderausstellung im Oberen Belvedere erzählt von der Zeit der Metternich’schen Restauration, der Stärkung des Bürgertums und seinem gleichzeitigen Rückzug aus der Sphäre politischer Verantwortung ins Private.

Die Habsburgermonarchie in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts: Französische Revolution und Napoleon haben sie in ihren Grundfesten erschüttert – durch Repression versucht sie die alte Stärke wiederzuerlangen Das Bürgertum gewinnt ein neues, bis dahin ungekanntes Selbstbewusstsein. Im Zentrum steht die Familie, das sprichwörtliche häusliche Glück. Gleichzeitig ziehen sich deren Protagonistinnen und Protagonisten aus dem politischen Leben zurück.

Dies war das Ausgangsszenario für eine neue Stilrichtung: das Wiener Biedermeier. Die scheinbare Idylle des Privaten wurde zum herrschenden Ideal. Darstellungen häuslichen Lebens kehrten zunehmend in die Kunst ein. Die Salonkultur hatte Hochkonjunktur. In der bildenden Kunst wurden in dieser Zeit Familienporträts, Einblicke in die beschauliche Heimeligkeit oder Blumenbilder beliebt. Die heimatliche Landschaft als Ort der Identifikation wurde zum gefragten Motiv.

Dennoch blieb die Kunst auch in dieser Zeit nicht gänzlich unkritisch: Darstellungen von vermeintlich beschaulichen oder anrührenden Szenen kippen bei genauerer Betrachtung in ihr Gegenteil. Armut, und gesellschaftliche Ausgrenzung sind die „versteckten“ Themen der Biedermeiermalerei.

Kurator Rolf H. Johannsen widmet sich in dieser Ausstellung Sein und Schein einer für Wien und seine Kunstgeschichte prägenden Epoche.

Mit Werken von Ferdinand Georg Waldmüller, Friedrich von Amerling, Rosalia Amon, Josef Danhauser, Thomas Ender, Peter Fendi, Pauline Koudelka-Schmerling, Carl Schindler, Franz Steinfeld, Adalbert Stifter u. a.

Kuratiert von Rolf H. Johannsen.

 © Foto: Belvedere Museum